If iOS has "function to unlock from the outside" function is implemented, or if you leave the terminal for 1 hour, data communication via the Lightning port is impossible
In the beta version of iOS 12 and iOS 11.4.1, "When the state is not unlocked for more than 1 hour after the terminal is locked, the Lightning port becomes dedicated for charging and the data communication is disabled" function is enabled It is reported by the security researcher that it is. If this function is implemented even in the official version, even if it is an investigation agency such as a police station, it will be difficult to unlock the terminal.
Apple Is Testing a Feature That Could Kill Police iPhone Unlockers - Motherboard
As of 2018, the unlock tool used by the investigation agency etc. is to insert the Lightning cable USB-connected to the PC to the iOS terminal, and operate the terminal through this cable to release the lock. For this reason, locked iOS devices can be operated from the outside, so it has long been pointed out as a security problem.
This time, the function pointed out by security researchers Ryan Duff et al. Is called "USB restricted mode", and this function is also installed in the beta version of iOS 11.4. However, the USB restriction mode that was installed in the beta version of iOS 11.4 is "Data communication using the Lightning cable becomes impossible if it is left for 7 days or more after the terminal is lockedIt was such a specification that it could not be said that there was practical effect to that.
However, in the iOS 12 and iOS 11.4.1 beta versions released at the time of writing the article, you can see from the actual screenshot that the setting time of the USB limit mode has been shortened to one hour. This makes it more difficult for intentional unlocking by investigative agencies and others.
Since the USB limit mode was not adopted in the official version of iOS 11.4, it is unknown whether this implementation will be installed in the official version of iOS 12 and iOS 11.4.1. However, Mr. Duff said, "There is a clear intention that Apple's development team implemented this feature, and it should not be wanted to be deleted when implementing the official version," he said. It shows a view that it is expensive.